Food & Nutrition  |  Jarrah Eddy

Gluten Free and Casein Free Diet

"Nothing is impossible. The word itself says I'm possible."

Remember: all your fruits, all your vegetables, all your nuts and seeds, all your seafood and animal proteins—including eggs are all naturally gluten free!

Gluten is a protein found in wheat (and other varieties of wheat like spelt), rye and barley. Sometimes oats can also be cross contaminated by these crops.

Casein is a protein found in the breast milk of animals (The structure of the casein molecule varies from animal to animal).

It is important to note that casein is a protein, while lactose (also found dairy) is the milk sugar component. So just using lactose free products does not eliminate the casein molecule.

There is research to show that a gluten free/casein free diet can result in improvement in behaviour, eye contact, socialisation, concentration and learning.

The theory behind this is to do with the breakdown of these proteins and their chemical structure.

Through poor digestion, the two particular proteins can remain intact through the digestive tract and cross across the gastrointestinal lining. This allows them to enter systematic circulation and cross the blood brain barrier. Once inside the brain, they can bind to the opiod receptors. This can impact mood, concentration, mental performance and pain tolerance.

The goal is to adhere to this diet strictly for 6 months to assess the benefit. Although parents can often note improvement within the first month with comments like “It feels like a fog has lifted and my child is more aware and alert”.

Implementation of this diet usually needs guidance by a practitioner to make sure that adequate nutrient levels are still met.

It can also be daunting when you have a fussy eater and wheat and dairy comprise of most of the diet. In such a case, gradually swapping of ingredients may need to be done more slowly over a 2-4 week period to help with the transition.

Below are gluten and casein containing foods:

Flours:

  • Wheat flour
  • Wholemeal flour
  • Bakers flour
  • Semolina
  • Barley
  • Rye (avoid battered or crumbed food)
  • Spelt flour
  • Wheat including durum, semolina, triticale, rye, barley, bulgur, couscous, kamut and spelt

Pastas:

  • Durum wheat pasta (spaghetti, macaroni etc)
  • Egg noodles
  • Hokkein noodles
  • Barley pasta
  • Spelt pasta

Breads and Cereals:

  • Breakfast bars
  • Most cereals unless specified gluten free
  • Wheat breads—wholegrain, white bread, rye bread, barley bread, pumpernickel bread.

Crackers:

  • Wheat crackers
  • Bran biscuits
  • Ryvita
  • Oatcakes

Condiments:

  • Gravy mixes, seasonings & rubs
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Malt (Milo)
  • Malt vinegar
  • Modified starch
  • Mustard pickles
  • Soy sauce
  • Texturized vegetable protein
  • Vegemite

Dairy Products:

  • Cow’s milk
  • Goat’s milk
  • Sheep's cheese
  • Buffalo products
  • Cheese
  • Sour cream
  • Yogurt

Below do not contain gluten and casein:

Grains and legumes:

  • Amaranth
  • Basmati Rice
  • Beans
  • Brown Rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpea
  • Lentils
  • Millet
  • Pea
  • Quinoa
  • Wild Rice
  • Flour: any flour made from the above sources

Pastas:

  • Buckwheat noodles
  • Rice noodles
  • Vegetable, corn, spinach or quinoa pasta

Breads and Cereals:

  • Gluten free breads based on buckwheat, corn, rice, chickpea flour
  • Gluten free muesli, homemade muesli made from a combination of: Brown rice flakes, millet flakes, organic cornflakes, puffed amaranth, puffed corn, puffed rice, raw nuts & seeds, shredded coconut
  • Puffed kamut
  • Puffed quinoa

Crackers:

  • Rice cakes
  • Corn cakes
  • Gluten free products

Condiments:

  • Bouillon stock powder
  • Sesame salt
  • Tamari (check label)
  • Mustard seeds
  • Fresh dried herbs & spices
  • Apple cider vinegar

Dairy Products:

  • Almond and other nut milks
  • Coconut milk and yogurt
  • Rice milk

 

 

Copyright © 2019 Wholistic Impact. Website by Bolder Creative.